The drought situation in almost all the ASAL counties persisted in January. Currently, four counties: Isiolo, Garissa, Kajiado and Tana River are classified in the alarm phase. Ten counties have moved into the alert drought phase up from six in December, with most counties reporting a worsening trend. Only four counties out of the 23 ASAL counties recorded a stable trend.

Generally, in many ASAL areas, the October-November-December (OND) 2017 seasonal rainfall started late, had poor temporal and spatial distribution, were below average in total amount and ceased earlier than usual. 

Get details on drought status in the National Drought Early Warning bulletin - February 2018.

Detailed reports of the drought situation in each of the 23 arid and semi-arid counties are available in the county-specific Drought Early Warning Bulletins.